SIMEN JOHAN – Until the Kingdom Comes

Johan’s images are completely without people. Perhaps because humans are to obviously imperfect to imagine that they could be a part of even an illusory paradise. Yet the works clearly relate to human processes, beliefs, and illusions. The presentations are staged, with animals posing expressively for the camera like actors. Questions of authenticity versus artificiality aries when one recognizes that these are not all animals living in their natural habitats. Some were photographed on location in zoos or wildlife parks, farms and museums, other show roadkill or taxidermied specimens, posed and Photoshopped into landscape, still others were taken in the wild. Which are alive, and which are uncanny imitations of life? Such ambiguity is sypmtomatic of the universal dualisms that give life its sense of being contingent, unfixed. Citing such oppositions as “nature/artifice, irony/sincerity, nightmare/ideal, animal/human,” Johan says, “things in real life are never just one way or another. Its’s a way for me to get to some sort of truth about the instability of meaning.” 

-Mark Scala, Chief Curator, First Center for the Visual Arts, From the exhibition catalogue Simen Johan: Until the Kingdom Comes

_

29 August through 8 October 2011

Reception for the artist in the Pollock Gallery, Friday, 2 September, from 5 to 7 p.m.

Brief artist’s discussion at 5:30 p.m.

Pollock Gallery

Division of Art

Meadows School of the Arts

Southern Methodist University

This entry was posted in Simen Johan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to SIMEN JOHAN – Until the Kingdom Comes

  1. You should really control the responses at this website

  2. powered by says:

    I Am Going To have to come back again whenever my course load lets up – nevertheless I am getting your Rss feed so i can read your web blog offline. Cheers.

  3. It appears to me that this website doesnt load up in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the same issue? I like this website and dont want to have to miss it when Im gone from my computer.

  4. green loan says:

    This is a wonderful weblog, would you be interested in making time for an interview concerning just how you produced it? If so e-mail me!

  5. ebook says:

    I love your wp layout, where did you get a hold of it?

  6. I feel one of your advertisements triggered my internet browser to resize, you might well want to set that on your blacklist.

  7. If you dont mind, where do you host your webpage? I am hunting for a good quality web host and your webpage appears to be fast and up all the time

  8. mlm says:

    Do you might have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your scenario; weve created some good techniques and were searching to swap solutions with other folks, be certain to fire me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  9. success says:

    Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed is not working today. I tried including it to my Yahoo reader account but got absolutely nothing.

  10. You should really moderate the commentary at this site

  11. I experimented with taking a look at your blog in my ipod touch and the layout doesnt seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not really working with your site.

  12. Could you message me with any pointers on how you made your blog look this cool, I would appreciate it.

  13. When I open up your Rss feed it appears to be to be a lot of garbage, is the problem on my part?

  14. sponsor says:

    Many of the commentary on this particular weblog dont make sense.

  15. Im having a small problem. I cant get my reader to pickup your rss feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

  16. Odd , this post shows up with a dark hue to it, what color is the primary color on your webpage?

Leave a Reply

